Spotlight Awards 2013

Congratulations to our winners!

This years spotlight awards took place at Rheged on Friday 8th March 2013. Thank you to all those who attended and made the night a brilliant success!

Below are the outstanding staff and teams who won this years awards!

This year we received a record number of nominations for the fifth annual Spotlight Awards. We would like to thank all of you who submitted a nomination form for taking the time to recognise a team or individual member of our staff for their hard work and dedication. It is wonderful to hear how are staff are making a difference in the lives of Cumbrians' every day. The Here for You - Patient Experience Award and the Partnership Award are very important to us as all of the nominees were selected by members of the public.

Although we wish we could shortlist everyone, our judges have read and scored all of the nomination forms and to shortlist the outstanding group of people who will be invited to attend a gala evening on Friday 8th March at Rheged, Penrith to find out who has won the awards!

We called all patients, carers and public members to nominate people they felt deserve extra recognition for their hard work and dedication. This could have been an individual or team from any area of the Trust, clinical or non-clinical, or it could be an individual or group working in partnership with Trust staff.

And the winners are...!

The following awards were nominated by the public

Here for You Award - Patient Experience Award

This award will be made to an individual member of staff or a team from any area of the Trust, clinical or non-clinical, who:

  • always puts patient safety and service first

The overall winner was Emma Hamilton - Specialist Respiratory Physiotherapist who was described by patients as warm, reassuring, empathetic and understanding.


Highly commended- Deborah Coulter Community Psychiatric Nurse

Partnership Award

This award will be made to an individual or group who:

  • work alongside Trust staff to deliver excellent integrated care to patients

The overall winner was- The Speech After Stroke Volunteers Scheme were recognised for boosting the confidence of their patients and lifting morale.



Highly commended award is - Newcastle Motor Neurone Disease Care Centre 


Other categories

Staff were also invited to nominate fellow members of staff in the following catergories:

  • Productive Team of the Year:         Macmillan Speech and Language Therapy Team
  • The Leadership Award:                  Anne Blenkinsopp - Team Leader for the Older Adults Mental Health Team in Copeland
  • Innovation Award:                         Debra McDowell - Assistant Practitioner
  • Quality Champion of the Year:         Judith Brassington - MS Specialist Nurse
  • Unsung Hero Award - Allerdale:       Sharon Johnston, Ward Sister
  • Unsung Hero Award - Carlisle:          Jimmy Burfield, AMAZE Practitioner
  • Unsung Hero Award - Copeland:      Yvonne Southam - Continence Nurse Specialist
  • Unsung Hero Award - Eden:            Lynne Grundy and Carol Bainbridge - Assistant Practitioners
  • Unsung Hero Award - Furness:         Emily Griffiths - Community Nursing Clinical Lead
  • Unsung Hero Award - South Lakes:   Karen Carruthers - Therapy Assistant

The shortlisted nominees will come together at the gala awards ceremony on Friday 8th March at Rheged, Penrith for an evening of fun, food, and to find out will win the awards.

If you have any questions, please contact Communications Helpdesk on 01228 603890 or


Copyright © Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

  • Speak Out Safely
  • Patent Opinion - Every Voice Matters
  • eHealth Cumbria
  • Cumbria County Council
  • Browsealoud