Clinical Governance

Clinical Governance is about the quality and safety of patient care. It is everything we do as individuals and as an organisation to achieve high standards of clinical care. This includes the management of resources, clinical and self-governance.

The Department of Health defines clinical governance as: 
“A framework through which NHS organisations are accountable for continually improving the quality of their services and safeguarding high standards of care by creating an environment in which excellence in clinical care will flourish.” (Department of Health 1998). 

The seven pillars of clinical governance

There are seven areas of activity which are used to make sure we deliver the highest quality health care to our service users:

  • Service user, carer and public involvement
  • Risk management
  • Clinical audit
  • Staffing and staff management
  • Education and training
  • Clinical effectiveness
  • Clinical information