Equality Delivery System

The Equality Delivery System (EDS) is designed to support NHS commissioners and providers to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff, which are personal, fair and diverse. The EDS is all about making positive differences to healthy living and working lives so that everyone counts.

If adopted and used effectively, the EDS should help the Trust to start the analysis that is required by section 149 of the Equality Act 2010 (“the public sector Equality Duty”) in a way that promotes localism and also helps to deliver on the NHS Outcomes Framework, the NHS Constitution and the Human Resources Transition Framework. The EDS will also help providers to continue to meet CQC's “Essential Standards of Quality and Safety”.

At the heart of the EDS is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. It is against these outcomes our performance is analysed, graded and action determined.

  1. Better health outcomes for all
  2. Improved patient access and experience
  3. Empowered, engaged and included staff
  4. Inclusive leadership at all levels

The EDS covers all those people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010.

There are nine characteristics in total:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race including nationality and ethnicity
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Once overall grades for all outcomes had been agreed, a number of Equality Objectives were formed based on particular outcomes where most improvement was thought to be needed.

View our latest Equality Delivery System Report (EDS2)

For more information please contact:

Registration and Governance Co-ordinator
Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
Cumberland House
Carleton Clinic